Fab five heading to Clinical Research Network Awards

Congratulations to Professor Pippa Tyrrell, Professor Phil Kalra, Joy Dearden, Katie McLoughlin and the Research for the Future team, who have all been shortlisted in the Greater Manchester Clinical Research Awards.

Joy has been shortlisted for the Nurse or Midwife of the Year title. With a background in critical care, she has been instrumental in the acute research delivery team’s success over the past 12 months. She frequently goes the extra mile and is an outstandingly compassionate person.

Katie is a contender for the Research Practitioner of the Year award. She is a diabetes research practitioner and shows total dedication and focus to cram full-time achievements into her part-time role. Since joining the diabetes research team at Salford Royal in April 2016 she has made a huge impact.

Pippa and Phil are shortlisted for the Lifetime Achievement Award. Pippa has led an amazing transformation in stroke care over the last two decades and has been behind some of the most important and influential research in stroke. Phil, who is also Salford Royal’s Principal Clinical Research Lead, has worked tirelessly to raise awareness of kidney disease and to promote research to improve treatments

Research for the Future is shortlisted in the public engagement category for a second year in a row and will be hoping to emulate its success of 2016 when it won the award, as well as scooping a special award to recognise the team’s advisor Lillian Fallows.

We’ll find out the winners on 9 November – good luck to them all!

Skip to content